Follow us on FaceBook Follow us on Twitter Check our YouTube Channel
Governor & Chairman: H.E. Mr. Riad T. Salamé
1st Vice-Governor: H.E. Mr. Raed Charafeddine
2nd Vice-Governor: H.E. Dr. Saad Andary
3rd Vice-Governor: H.E. Mr. Muhammad Baasiri
4th Vice-Governor: H.E. Mr. Haroutioun Samuelian
Banque Du Liban
Country: Republic of Lebanon
Establishment Date: 01/08/1963
Headquarters Address: Beirut - Lebanon
P.O. Box: 11-5544 Beirut
Tel.: (+961)-1-750000
Fax: (+961)-1-343249
Membership in the UAB: Observer Member
Objectives & Functions
1. The BDL is vested by law with the exclusive right to issue the national currency. As stipulated by article 70 of the Code of Money and Credit, the BDL is entrusted with the general mission of safeguarding the national currency in order to ensure the basis for sustained social and economic growth. This mission consists of the:
2. Safeguard of monetary and economic stability
3. Safeguard of the soundness of the banking sector
4. Development of money and financial markets
5. Development and regulation of the payment systems and instruments
6. Development and regulation of money transfer operations including electronic transfers
7. Development and regulation of the clearing and settlement operations relative to different financial and payment instruments and marketable bonds